Our Directors

Te Wai Māori is a Charitable Trust (Te Wai Māori Trust) and is governed by a corporate trustee – Te Wai Māori Trustee Limited.

Te Wai Māori has a board of three directors and two alternate directors who are each appointed for a four-year term, with a maximum of two terms. The directors are responsible for approving the strategic outlook of the organisation and ensure the goals and objectives are implemented. Te Wai Māori directors follow a Charter of Corporate Governance, Best Practice, and a Code of Ethics.

Ken Mair
Ken MairChair
Whanganui, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngā Rauru, Ngāti Apa, Ngāti Raukawa, Ngā Wairiki
Lisa te Heuheu
Lisa te HeuheuDeputy Chair
Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Maniapoto
Miria Pomare
Miria PomareDirector
Ngāti Toa Rangatira, Ngāti Mutunga, Rongomaiwahine, Rongowhakaata
Donna Flavell
Donna FlavellAlternate Director
Waikato, Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Ruapani
Ian Ruru
Ian RuruAlternate Director
Te Aitanga ā Māhaki, Ngāti Porou, Ngāi Tai,
Te Whakatōhea

Our Staff

Te Wai Māori is made up of a team of dedicated management and policy staff who work tirelessly to carry out our mandate under the Deed of Settlement. Please see below for information on each.

Graeme Hastilow
Graeme HastilowManager
Ngāti Toa Rangatira, Ngāti Raukawa ki Te Tonga, Ngāti Tūwharetoa
Carly OConnor
Carly OConnorSenior Policy Analyst
Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Tūwharetoa
Taniera Manaia
Taniera ManaiaPolicy Analyst
Ngāti Kahu, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāti Awa
Bede Dwyer
Bede DwyerCommunications Manager
Fran Olds
Fran OldsCommunications Advisor

He reo tō te wai
He reo tō te tangata
Kotahi tonu te whakapapa, whakakotahitia!

Our water has its language | As too do our people have theirs | Both born of one whakapapa, United!.